I went to The Standard Hotel (Hollywood) last night for a comedy show. It was my first time going to any Standard Hotel and I’m not really into Hollywood culture at all so it was a little overwhelming.  First off there’s valet, which I know is a part of going out with other people (if I were alone-oh boy, I look forever for meters) but that already puts me in a strange place mentally. Then you walk into the 60’s decor, shag carpet on the floor wall and ceiling, hanging ball chairs and then this: (see photo)

The front desk of the hotel has two agents then behind them is a girl in a display case. My friend and I wanted to feed her lettuce and give her a bottle of water.  I thought, “How much does she get paid?” And “I wonder how you would list that job on your resume.” It’s art. Okay. I’ll move on, even though I could talk about that probably all day. The guy in this photo is the DJ, spinning for the hotel. If you’ve seen Portlandia I guess this is what they’re referencing in the Deuce Hotel sketch. The DJ thing I don’t really mind-that seems more okay than a human being on display.

So I was out of my element (my element being my bed.) I felt insecure, which isn’t that weird-but is that what Hollywood is? I think maybe that’s what part of the vibe of Hollywood is-making people feel that they lack something whether it be money, fame, skinny jeans, youth, personality…

Long story short, know thyself and to thine something, something, something…I ended up feeling okay at the end of the night because I decided to be okay with who I am-even though I still want to set the girl in the display case free…

